view current print edition







CPMA’s Passion for Produce Program ready for Vancouver

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association announced the participants for the 2018 Passion for Produce Program in Vancouver. As an added value to membership, PFP was created by the CPMA in 2010 to provide rising stars in the produce industry the opportunity to accelerate their professional development through a unique mentoring experience at the annual convention and trade show.

“We are thrilled to have so many rising stars from some of the leading companies within our industry join us in Vancouver this year,” said Ron Lemaire, president of CPMA. “With our largest program to date, PFP continues to thrive on great programming, networking opportunities, and amazing participation from senior industry leaders participating in mentorship activities.”

Over the three day CPMA Convention & Trade Show, PFP candidates connect with industry leaders/mentors, participate in off-site tours, interactive sessions, networking events, and more to learn all they can about the fresh produce industry in Canada. PFP candidates gain knowledge through first-hand experiences, discussions, and networking that empowers them to return to work with an enriched understanding and renewed enthusiasm for the produce industry. Candidates develop lasting relationships with mentors, fellow candidates, and other industry leaders that will guide them through their careers.

CPMA introduced the 2018 PFP participants:

  • Adam Hormis of Consolidated Fruit Packers Ltd.
  • Bethany Alards of Peak of the Market    
  • Catherine Hamel of Clark Drouin Lefebvre Inc./QPMA
  • Chris Mendes of Red Sun Farms    
  • Daniel Dubois of Metro
  • Dylan Goranson of BC Hot House
  • Evan Ostertag of Star Produce    
  • Goel Gakman of Richard E. Ryan & Associates    
  • Heron Espino of Thomas Fresh Inc.
  • John Choi of Whistler’s Creekside Market
  • Juliana Wong of Fresh Direct Produce Ltd.    
  • Kelsey Van Lissum of Oppy
  • Kevin Sorichetti of Earth Fresh Farms Inc.    
  • Kevin Yuen of Fresh Direct Produce Ltd.    
  • Parry Witmer of Loblaw Cos.
  • Rudi Jaster of BC Fresh
  • Sam Christopherson of Markon Cooperative Inc.    
  • Tilly MacRae of Sliced FC Ltd.
  • Vincent Mericille of Metro