view current print edition







OGVG's online system helps with record-setting voter turnout

During the 51st Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers Annual General Meeting, members elected three directors to represent District 1 through an online voting system that resulted in a record-setting voter turnout. Over 80 percent of eligible voters cast ballots in advance of the meeting that resulted in the following outcome: Paul Mastronardi (Mastron Enterprises Ltd.) – District 1; Rick Mastronardi (I.P.R. Farms Ltd.) – District 1; and Peter Quiring (Nature Fresh Farms Inc.) – District 1. In District 2, Jan VanderHout (Beverly Greenhouses Ltd.) acclaimed one of the two vacancies on the board.

The newly elected Directors are joined by the existing directors whose terms continue through to Oct. 31, 2019 to form the 2018-19 OGVG board of directors:

  • Kevin Safrance (Envirofresh Produce Ltd.) – District 1
  • Hilco Tamminga (Truly Green) – District 1
  • Bill Heeg (Sun Choice Produce ) – District 2
  • Marco Hoogenboom (Hoogenboom Family Farms Inc.) – District 2
  • James Neven (Neven Produce Inc.) District 2

Five committee people were also acclaimed in each district. The following committee people will represent their districts for a one-year term ending Oct. 31, 2019.

  • District 1 Committee People
    • Chris Del Greco (Under Sun Acres)
    • Dale DiCiocco (DiCiocco Sonny Farms Inc.)
    • Albert Mastronardi (H&A Mastronardi Farms Ltd.)
    • Jim Slater (Sunsation Acres)
    • Rodney Wright (Wright Greenhouses Ltd.)
  • District 2 Committee People
    • Ted Berkel Berkel (Greenhouses Inc.)
    • Trish Fournier (Lake Erie Farms Inc.)
    • Hardeep Singh (Singh Greenhouses)
    • Teranjit Singh (eNature Greenhouses)
    • Fifth seat vacant and TBD

Any vacancies on the OGVG board of directors or committees will be appropriately appointed as per OGVG policies.